UEFA Champions League


UEFA Champions League is an annual football club competition. Governed by the Union of European Football Association (UEFA). And contested by European top-division clubs. Determining the winners of the competition. It is one of the world’s most prestigious football tournaments. Introduced as the European Champion Clubs’ Cup in 1955. This was initially a straight knockout competition. Open only to every national championship’s champion team.

In 1992, the competition took on its current name. Adding a round-robin group on stage. Allowing multiple entrants from certain groups to Countries. The reigning champions are Liverpool. Having beaten Tottenham Hotspur 2–0 in 2019 final. Spanish clubs have the most wins (18 wins). Followed by England (13 wins) and Italy (12 wins). England has the most winning teams. With five clubs having won the title. 

22 clubs have won the competition. 12 of whom have won it more than once. Real Madrid is the most successful club in the tournament’s history. Real Madrid is the most successful club in the tournament’s history.  During the 1955–56 season, the first edition of the European Cup took place. Seventeen teams took part. 

4 September 1955 the first match of the European Cup took place. And ended in a 3–3 draw between Sporting CP and Partizan. João Baptista Martins of Sporting CP scored the first goal in the history of the European Cup. They held the inaugural final at the Parc des Princes between Stade de Reims and Real Madrid.

The UEFA Champions League starts with a double round-robin group stage of 32 teams. Which followed by two qualifications ‘streams’ for teams. Not gaining direct entry to the proper tournament. Since the 2009–10 season. They split the two streams between teams qualified. Under being league champions. And those qualified in their national championship under finishing 2nd–4th.

The number of teams entered the UEFA Champions League. By each association based on the member associations.  The more teams the association can represent in the Champions League. And the smaller qualification rounds in which the teams of the association will take part.