Santosh Trophy


The Santosh Trophy is an association football take out rivalry challenged by the provincial state associations and government establishments under the All India Football Federation (AIFF), the game’s overseeing body in India. Before the beginning of the principal national club association, the National Football League, in 1996, the Santosh Trophy was viewed as the top residential title in India. Numerous players who have spoken to India globally played and picked up awards while playing in the Santosh Trophy.

The competition is held each year with 31 groups who are isolated into gatherings and who must fit the bill for the competition appropriate through the starter round. The present bosses are Services, who won their sixth title during the 2018–19 release. as a youthful Indian football player its a fantasy to the chance to play in Santosh trophy.

The Santosh Trophy was begun in 1941 after the then leader of the Indian Football Association, West Bengal’s football association, Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh and Sir Satish Chandra Chowdhury gave the trophy. At the hour of the principal competition, India did not have a legitimate principal title for football crews. The other two principal rivalries at the time were the Durand Cup, Rovers Cup, and the IFA Shield, and they were played by club sides. In 1990, trying to bring through increasingly more youthful players, the All India Football Federation made the Santosh Trophy into an under-23 rivalry. This move just went on for three seasons before the competition was returned to senior rivalry.

During his time as the lead trainer of India, Bob Houghton required the competition to be suspended and that it was an exercise in futility and ability. He was increasingly forceful against the competition after India striker Sunil Chhetri harmed himself in the 2009 Santosh Trophy and needed to miss the Nehru Cup. Accordingly, national cooperative individuals were not permitted to take an interest in the competition. This was likewise in the long run returned. In 2013 it was uncovered that the AIFF concluded that I-League players would not be permitted to take an interest in the Santosh Trophy.